Bedtime stories

Aadi really likes bed time stories. If I try to tell him a story any other time, he says, but its not bed time yet… Stories are for bed time, he is sure. I told him all the stories my mother told me. Or so I think. Then there was a dearth of ready to fire stories. So I am narrating Jungle book to him now. Just 1 page a day. It is a wonderful story. Tabaqui the jackal caught my attention, his characterization, scavenging, submissive, yet threatening because of  a taste for gossiping,  makes him very interesting. I can’t but notice the strong connotation of caste in Jungle book.

Leave a Reply

